Humidity: 79%

Wind: 4.83 km/h

  • 03 May 2018

    Partly Cloudy -17°C 2°C

  • 04 May 2018

    Clear 18°C 3°C

Council Support

Head: Mr N Sello

Contact Details: 039 737 8139
Email Address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Units Overview

  • Council Support Unit is one of the 5 units which currently form the Corporate Services Department.
  • Council Support is made up of two sub units which are;
  • Public Participation & Public Education and
  • Customer Care and Petitions management.
  • The other component of Council Support Unit is the management Political Offices’ staff such as the Office of the Mayor, Office of the Speaker, Office of the Chief Whip and the Office which looks after the operations of the Executive committee.
  • Through the signed Memorandum of Understanding with the COGTA, the Unit is also responsible for the management and the operations of Community Development Workers(CDWs)

Main functions of the unit

  • To develop systems to run the Unit such as Policies, Charters, Strategies, Complaints register, Customer Satisfaction Surveys, Plans and Standard Operating Procedure Manuals.
  • To enhance Public Participation and Public Education in all 26 Wards in the Matatiele Municipality’s jurisdiction.
  • To capacitate Public Participation Drivers such as Ward Councilors, Ward Committees Ward Support Assistants, Traditional Leaders and CDWs on regular basis with the aid of MSIG and the little allocates from the Municipality.
  • The management of public demonstrations and stock theft related matters.
  • To ensure that there is a synchronization of workings of the Sector Departments Like Department of Social Development, Department of health on programs like Community Dialogues, Initiation forum activities,
  • Department of Home Affairs on programs such as eradication of Late Registration of birth and
  • Department of Economic Development ,Environmental Affairs and Tourism(DEDEAT) on educating communities about Consumer rights

Units Vision

A unit which ensures excellent Customer Care through effective Public Education and enhanced Public Participation which encourages accountability, transparency and oversight

Units Mission

By the provision of prompt responses to the community concerns and complaints and ensuring that all people take part in decision making through participatory oversight structures which are well capacitated.

Units Objectives

  • To promote public participation
  • To educate communities on municipal and government services
  • To capacitate public participation drivers regularly
  • To maintain good customer care and relations based on Batho Pele principles
  • To ensure effective petition management system.
  • To encourage advanced oversight.
  • To promote vision, mission and values of the Unit.

Emergency Details

Electrical Services : 0397378171
Prepaid Sales : 0397378203
Finance Office : 0397378203
Fire & Disaster : 0392560610
SAPS : 0397379901
Water : 0397374324
Ambulance : 10177
Tayler Bequest Hospital : 039 737 3107
Traffic : 0397379662